Southern Region University Center

This University Center serves the southern region of Jalisco, including the municipalities of Amacueca, Atemajac de Brizuela, Atoyac, Zapotlán el Grande, Concepción de Buenos Aires, Gómez Farías, Jilotlán de los Dolores, Santa María del Oro, La Manzanilla, Mazamitla, Pihuamo, Quitupan, San Gabriel, Sayula, Tamazula de Gordiano, Tapalpa, Tecalitlán, Techaluta de Montenegro, Teocuitatlán de Corona, Tolimán, Tonila, Tuxcueca, Tuxpan, Valle de Juárez, Zacoalco de Torres, Zapotiltic, and Zapotitlán de Vadillo.

It is comprised of two Divisions, the Sciences, Arts and Humanities Division, and the Regional Development and Wellbeing Division, as well as six Departments: Society and Economy; Health and Wellbeing; Exact Sciences, Technology and Methodologies; Culture, Art and Human Development, and Regional Development.

CUSUR offers 23 programs: 3 post-basic programs, 2 vocational programs, 4 associate degree programs, 11 Bachelor’s degree programs, a Master’s degree program, a specialization and updating.

Its current student population totals 5,339 students: 615 in the vocational programs, 325 in the associate degree programs, 4 in the specialization, 4,342 in the Bachelor’s degree, and 53 in the Master’s.

CUCSUR has a faculty of 405 teachers, 90 of whom are full-time teachers and 24 full-time research professors, of whom 12 belong to the SNI.

Its library contains 19,280 titles in 49,501 volumes, as well as 1,755 computers.


Source: "University of Guadalajara: Tradition, Education, Achievement", Institutional Brochure ,October 2011